

For Immediate Release

Contact Regina Wilson 951-823-7659

February 6, 2015

The California Massage Therapy Council Names Assemblywoman Susan Bonilla Legislator of the Year

Sacramento – The California Massage Therapy Council names Assemblywoman Susan A. Bonilla as Legislator of the Year for the 2014 legislative session.

Bonilla is recognized for her leadership and commitment as Chair of the Assembly Business and Professions Committee, and for working with the community and stakeholders to sponsor a legislative package to improve professional standards in the massage therapy industry. AB 1147, The Massage Therapy Act of 2014, strengthens professional standards for legitimate massage therapy professionals and helps protect Californians who rely on the benefits of therapeutic massage.

"All Californians should be proud of the work done by Assemblywoman Bonilla," said California Massage Therapy Council Chair, Mark Dixon. "Assemblywoman Bonilla's hands-on approach to understanding the issues that impact the safety and quality of life for many Californians is why we've named her Legislator of the Year. We share the same goals and commitment to protect the public and we are extremely appreciative of her willingness to tackle such a complex issue.

The Legislator of the Year is an annual award given by the Massage Therapy Council to lawmakers who show exemplary leadership on matters of public importance. Past legislators awarded were former State Senator Lou Correa and Senator Curren Price Jr.

"I am honored to receive this distinguished award and thank the California Massage Therapy Council," said Assemblywoman Bonilla (D-Concord). "Their tireless efforts have helped strengthen regulations to professionalize the massage therapy industry, in addition to increasing the safety of local communities across the state. I am proud of all the work we accomplished last year to ensure that trained and certified therapists can continue to play a vital healing role in our communities."



PHOTO CAPTION:

California Massage Therapy Council board members presented Assemblywoman Susan Bonilla Legislative of the Year award for the 2014 legislative session.

Left to Right: CAMTC Chairman Mark Dixon, Assemblywoman Susan Bonilla, and CAMTC Vice Chairman Keith Grant